Quote:
Yeah. He did. But after the interference call was made. So every thing he does to his detrement doesn't count. So in other words he had a free pass. If he did advance to 3rd that would have been allowed because the Cubs couldn't be punished once the interference call was made.
Look, he was stupid and did what he did without knowing the rule. But he got bailed out and it was correct. The rule is the rule.
Obviously this is all a moot point as it pertains to the outcome of the game because we would have lost either way. However, I still believe that the outcome of the play was decided wrongly.
Unless my interpretation of the rule is completely wrong and I am not understanding something, the way I read it is like this:
I will openly admit that my first opinion was completely wrong, as the ball should have been ruled dead the instant a play was made on Pagan due to the umpire raising his hand at the time of contact with Uribe. However, Pagan is only entitled second base, not third. If anything, the runner on first should be out due to the play being made on him prior to the ball being thrown to Uribe to tag out Pagan. So, the final outcome should have been runners on second and third with one out.
Again, this is merely my interpretation of the rule as I saw it on Comcast (which I now understand failed to show a lot of the play).